BARING-GOULD CENTENARY

JIM CAUSLEY AND MIRANDA SYKES PRESENT GHOSTS, WEREWOLVES AND COUNTRYFOLK – SONGS AND STORIES OF SABINE BARING GOULD

Six time BBC Folk Award nominee Jim Causley and Miranda Sykes from the Award winning Show of Hands and Daphne’s Flight celebrate the centenary of Sabine Baring-Gould, by exploring his life and writing through the folk songs that meant so much to him. In an entertaining show that will have the audience singing, gasping and smiling.
Sabine was an astonishing and often overlooked celebrity of the Victorian era. 
He interleaved folk songs he’d collected and wove real people and events into his fiction, to give it life. And that’s what Jim and Miranda do in the show, where they’re joined by narrator John Palmer, creator of the critically acclaimed Vaughan Williams 150 Anniversary From Pub to Pulpit tour of Cathedrals with Paul Hutchinson’s Coracle and acapella group Broomdasher.

Fri 17 May – Horbury Working Members Club

Wed 3 July – Penzance Literary Festival

Sun 7 July – Lichfield Festival

Sat 20 July – David Hall, South Petherton

Sat 3 Aug – Sidmouth Festival

 Mon 12 Aug – Broadstairs Folk Week

16-18 Aug Beautiful Days, Devon

Wed 21 Aug Whitby Festival 

Sun 25 Aug Lyme Folk Weekend

Thu 26 Sept The Plough Arts Centre, Devon

Fri 27 Sept Devoran Acoustic Sessions, Cornwall 

Sat 28 Sept Pound Arts Corsham

Sun 29 Sept St Saviours Church, St Albans

Sun 6 Oct Hartlepool Folk Folk Festival

Sun 20 Oct Bristol Folk House

Mon 21 Oct Colchester Arts Centre

Tue 22 Swanton Novers Village Hall, Norfolk